Turkic Council Chairmanship is held for one (calendar) year by the Turkic Council Member State, rotated according to the English alphabetical order of the official names of the States.

The President of the Member State holding the Chairmanship acts as Chairperson-in-Office. (and the functions of the Chairmanship-in-Office is exercised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of that State.)

During the Colphon-Ata Summit held in September 2018, the Kyrgyz Republic took over the Chairmanship from the Republic of Kazakhstan until the next Summit to be held in the second half of 2019 in Azerbaijan.

Current Turkic Council Chairperson-in-Office - H.E. Sooronbay Jeenbekov, President of the Kyrgyz Republic