Sister Ports Process

Under the Sister Ports Process, two meetings among Baku, Aktau and Samsun Seaports with larger participation of representatives from all transport modes and customs authorities of the member states have been organized so far.

Member States signed an MoU on the Sister Ports Process among the Seaports of Baku, Samsun and Aktau in 2013 with a view to enhancing cooperation in the field of transport even further. Kuryk Seaport of Kazakhstan will join the Sister Ports Process during the Fourth Meeting of Ministers of Transport of the Turkic Council, which is going to take place in Kyrgyzstan in the first quarter of 2019. Turkmenbashi Seaport of Turkmenistan was also invited to the Sister Ports Process.

The relationship set by the MoU has streamlined exchange of technical visits and trade ties among the Seaports and enhanced attempts for the creation of an integrated software system for the shipment of goods among them. To streamline efficient cooperation, the member states also established a technical group comprising the officials from the seaports and the Secretariat of the Turkic Council.

The Third Meeting of the Baku-Aktau-Samsun Sister Ports will be held in the first half of 2019 in Aktau, Kazakhstan.
Updated: 29.03.2019